Further reading


Ashram means "a place of spiritual shelter."


Atman means "The Soul, the Real Self". This is a foundational concept of Hinduism. The atman is spirit (brahman) unchanging, eternal and conscious. Atman refers to the non-material self. It is distinct from both the mind and the external body. This real self is beyond the temporary designations we normally ascribe to ourselves, in terms of race, gender, species and nationality.


Bhagavad-Gita is also known as Gitopanishadis or Gita, is a Sanatana Dharma or Hindu scripture produced from the colloquy given by Sri Krishna to Arjuna during the Kurukshetra War. Its philosophies and insights are intended to reach beyond the scope of religion and to humanity as a whole. In a very clear and wonderful way the Supreme Lord Krishna describes the science of self-realization and the exact process by which a human being can establish their eternal relationship with God. Bhagavad-Gita is the essence of Vedic knowledge and one of the most important Upanishads in Vedic literature. It is considered by eastern and western scholars alike to be among the greatest spiritual books the world has ever known.



Bhagavad-Gita Quotes

Gain the Highest through Knowledge


Buddhists do not consider Siddhartha Gautama to have been the only Buddha. In Buddhism, the term buddha in a broader sense usually refers to one who has become enlightened (i.e., awakened to the truth, or Dharma). More broadly, it is occasionally used to refer to all who attain nirvana.


Buddha's Path To Liberation

Buddha about Happiness

Buddha about Conquering

Five Basic Elements

The Five Basic Elements are Fire, Earth, Water, Metal, and Wood. According to the ancient Chinese belief, those are the basic elements of the universe and everything in our world is a compound of the five elements. These elements are understood as different types of energy in a state of constant interaction and flux with one another. The Five Elements also mean Movement, Change, and Development. They are changing, moving, waning, and expanding all the time.

In India, the Five Basic Elements are partially different. They are: Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Space. >>>

The Five Basic Elements

Balanced Organization

Indiaco: 5 Basic Elements

The Tao of Business Success

The Third Eye

The third eye (also known as the inner eye and the eye of Wisdom) is an invisible eye which provides perception beyond ordinary sight. In certain dharmic spiritual traditions such as Hinduism, the third eye refers to the ajna, or brow, chakra. The third eye refers to the gate that leads to inner realms and spaces of higher consciousness. In New Age spirituality, the third eye often symbolizes a state of enlightenment or the evocation of mental images having deeply personal spiritual or psychological significance. The third eye is often associated with religious visions, clairvoyance, the ability to observe chakras and auras, precognition, and out-of-body experiences. People who are claimed to have the capacity to utilize their third eyes are sometimes known as seers.

3rd Eye of Top American Politicians




More Cultural Glossaries and Dictionaries

  1. A Global Culture Glossary

  2. Human Culture: Glossary of Terms

  3. The Heart of Hinduism